Rocking Book Covers

The Rich Are Different

Dakota Stevens, the tough, wisecracking New York private eye, returns with his sexy and brilliant associate Svetlana Krüsh in a case that takes them both into the Old West...

The Rich Are Different, the 2nd novel in the Dakota Stevens Mystery Series, enters the rarefied world of a Long Island heiress and her murdered brother who owned an Old West resort in Montana.

To hunt down the man's killer, Dakota and Svetlana must go undercover as actors in a make-believe mining town straight out of 1885.

This highly anticipated sequel to A Real Piece of Work picks up a few months after that difficult case. Dakota Stevens is depressed. He's darker, battle-scarred and less cavalier. He's lost his detecting mojo and hasn't taken a case since A Real Piece of Work. Can he get his mojo back and find the killer?

Like bullets from a Gatling gun, the suspects come fast and furious: eccentric heiresses, greedy CEOs, catty thespians, sexy henchwomen, angry Native Americans, mysterious mobsters, menacing mercenaries, kinky housewives and contract killers.

It's a classic case of East meets West as Dakota and Svetlana follow a trail of clues that takes the reader from the sophisticated setting of The Great Gatsby to the forbidding land of Pale Rider.

National Bestselling Author Dave King calls The Rich Are Different, "Brainy, stylish, imaginative and a great deal of fun."

Reviews

"THE RICH ARE DIFFERENT brings back the smooth Dakota Stevens with his keen eye for detail, gentlemanly behavior and general wisecracking and witty shtick that make him both charismatic and agreeable. Stevens narrates with insightful and humorous observations that bring the nostalgia of the detective noir style...Orcutt's writing is succinct, clear and smooth...Though clues are artfully revealed, the plot has several twists that keep the reader guessing in this charming sequel to A REAL PIECE OF WORK. (5 stars; IR approved)" — IndieReader

"Brainy, stylish, imaginative and a great deal of fun. (5 stars)" — National Bestselling Author Dave King
Profile Photo Chris Orcutt

About Chris Orcutt

CHRIS ORCUTT has written professionally for over 20 years as a fiction writer, journalist, scriptwriter, playwright, technical writer and speechwriter. He has also taught high school U.S. history and college writing. At Baruch College, City University of New York, Chris received the Distinguished Teaching Award, and as a newspaper reporter he received a New York Press Association award.

Chris is the author of the critically acclaimed Dakota Stevens Mystery Series. The first novel in the series, A REAL PIECE OF WORK, achieved a #1 top-rated ranking in Literary Fiction for Kindle, and #4 in Mystery. IndieReader writes of the novel, “Action, lust, danger, style and witty repartee, Orcutt’s A Real Piece of Work is a work of art.” The novel received similarly strong critical acclaim from other reviewers, as did the sequel, THE RICH ARE DIFFERENT. The third installment in the series, A TRUTH STRANGER THAN FICTION, debuts on January 1, 2015.

Although Chris is very proud to have created the Dakota Stevens novels, he considers himself first and foremost a general practitioner in fiction writing, and has written a great deal of non-genre fiction. He has had well over two dozen short stories published in literary journals, and his short fiction has won a few modest awards, most notably 55 Fiction’s World’s Shortest Stories. Chris’s short story collection, THE MAN, THE MYTH, THE LEGEND, was selected by IndieReader as one of the Best Books of 2013.

In April 2014, ONE HUNDRED MILES FROM MANHATTAN, a modern pastoral novel in the tradition of Jane Austen and Thomas Hardy, was published. The novel tells the story of Wellington, a fictional wealthy community in Upstate New York, where the village and the surrounding hills conceal tales of love, lust, tragedy and small wars. The novel is ten chapters in length, and each chapter is from a different character’s point of view. These characters include a trophy wife, a medical doctor, a single mother, a contractor/local Casanova, and a Manhattan book editor.

ONE HUNDRED MILES was selected by IndieReader as a Best Book for 2014, and in a review of the novel Kirkus Reviews favorably compared Chris to Pulitzer Prize-winning author John Cheever.

Chris was born in Maine, and although he now lives in Upstate New York, he will always consider himself a Mainer and a New Englander first. He went to college in Boston, earning a degree in philosophy (summa cum laude, Phi Kappa Phi), and has been a lifelong Red Sox fan. His hobbies include golf, chess, movies and travel.

All books by Chris Orcutt

Our Partners

Partner