The Renaissance Club

A new world awaits May Gold. She just doesn't realize it can exist in the rear view mirror, the past she has studied so well.

"Enchanting, rich and romantic, a poetic journey through the folds of time," says bestselling author Kerry Lonsdale.

In her tiny carrel at the college, imagining the Baroque sculptor Bernini's arms around her, May is happy to daydream herself into that time. But could she exist there in reality?

She gets her chance to find out while touring St. Peter's in Rome. When May steps through the curtains of time into the 17th century, she finds herself staring into the eyes of the artist who has been her hero and her passion.

A young art historian, May is low woman on the academic totem pole. As a new teacher, she earns little more than a Starbuck's barists and is at odds with her department head.
But when she meets the genius Bernini, she's a completely different person, a poet who can speak her truth, a woman whose passion leads her into adventure. When she returns to her own time, she's back to being nobody. She must find a way to get back to him.

Can she give up everything, even the time in which she lives, to be with her soul mate? And can she live in a century that treated women as property? May must find a way forward, or doom her love to the dust of history.

If you love women's fiction and history, you'll swoon over this magical realism romance.

Reviews

Enchanting, rich and romantic...a poetic journey through the folds of time. In THE RENAISSANCE CLUB, passion, art, and history come together in this captivating tale of one woman's quest to discover her true self and the life she's meant to lead. Rachel Dacus deftly crafts a unique and spellbinding twist to the time-traveling adventure that's perfect for fans of Susanna Kearsley and Diana Gabaldon. -- Kerry Lonsdale, Wall Street Journal Bestselling Author of the Everything series.

THE RENAISSANCE CLUB is a beautifully written story about a woman torn between two worlds--the present and the distant past. This time-travel adventure kept me guessing until the end about which world May would choose, and if that choice would be the right one. Highly recommended for lovers of time travel fiction or anyone looking for a compelling story about a woman trying to find happiness. -- Annabelle Costa, Author of The Time Traveler's Boyfriend.

THE RENAISSANCE CLUB shimmers with beauty, poetry, and art. Author Rachel Dacus sweeps her readers away to Italy with her, lifting the senses with the sights, sounds, and tastes of that stunning country; imparting her deep knowledge of Renaissance and Baroque art while immersing the reader in a gorgeously romantic story. This book is time travel at its best! --  Georgina Young-Ellis, author of The Time Mistress Series

Profile Photo Rachel Dacus

About Rachel Dacus

Rachel Dacus writes about love and history, in fiction and poetry.

In her novel, THE RENAISSANCE CLUB, a young art historian meets her hero from the past, the fiery 17th century Italian sculptor Bernini. When he encounters his superfan from the future, sparks fly. Praised as “enchanting, rich, and romantic” the story folds time with the help of a time travel tour guide.

Dacus also writes poetry. The most recent of her four poetry collections is ARABESQUE. She lives in Northern California with her husband and a tiny but mighty Silky Terrier.

She’s a member of the Women’s Fiction Writer’s Association, Romance Writers of America, and Authors18. To learn more about upcoming projects, discounts, giveaways, and to read new poems, sign up for her quarterly newsletter: racheldacus.net.

Dacus says, "In my world, love always wins."

All books by Rachel Dacus

Our Partners

Partner