The Children of When

Book 1- Florisia

Leah, Raff, and Belle have been raised in separate “foster-homes” until they turn fourteen. On that day, the law states they must leave everything for an unknown future. When they are magically transported to another world, they discover not only each other, but a prophecy that has waited 1000 years for their arrival. To fulfill the prophecy, they must find and reunite three missing pieces of an ancient amulet, and in the process learn to control and use their unique Gifts. Dark forces conspire to prevent the resurrection of the Amulet, and the journey becomes one of survival. Turning fourteen was NOT supposed to be this hard!

Please Note:

Some links on this page may be affiliate links, and BookWorks may earn a commission if you use our link to purchase a product or service from this page. If you support what BookWorks does, please use our link and help us continue creating outstanding self-publishing content!


"A Five-Star Middle Grade Fantasy."

"Solid children's fiction; most enjoyable."

"A fun read reminiscent of Harry Potter."
"Awesome New Fantasy Book!"
"Really enjoyed this one!"
"A great face paced story."
Profile Photo Jennifer Redmile

About Jennifer Redmile

Jennifer Redmile grew up on the beautiful northern beaches of Sydney NSW, Australia and now lives in Geraldton WA with her husband, 23yo son and two gorgeous puppy dogs. She has always been an avid fantasy fiction reader, and always worked with children, so when she decided to write a novel, it was a natural progression to combine the two and make it a children's fantasy novel.
In 1997 she wrote a children's musical, entitled Beyond the Stars, for the local Catholic primary school, with a cast of over 300.
Jennifer recently completed Book 2 in The Children of When series, Valleron, which is awaiting publication, and is currently working on the 3rd book in the series, Dragardia.
She has also written two other YA series "What Ghost?" and "Morwitch".
All books by Jennifer Redmile

Our Partners