Nobody Drowned

Fear permeates the village of Spirit River, where the proposed expansion of a mining and smelter operation could threaten the waters of idyllic Awan Lake. RGI has a shaky reputation worldwide for its disregard and manipulation  of environmental regulations, to say nothing of a history of bullying national governments and local communities alike.
Frank Anderson, a local contractor with deep roots in the Coast Guard, is passionate about protecting his adopted community and gathers a network of police officers, local leaders and talented young women to bring the corporation to its knees.

Please Note:

Some links on this page may be affiliate links, and BookWorks may earn a commission if you use our link to purchase a product or service from this page. If you support what BookWorks does, please use our link and help us continue creating outstanding self-publishing content!


Thrilling novel, great story well written and I would highly recommend to others and would not hesitate to read more by Peter Kingsmill. (Erinne Carey, NetGalley Reviewer, 4 stars)

I received a review copy of this book from the author at my request and this is my honest opinion. Nobody Drowned takes up the story of the people on Awan Lake approximately a month after the ending of Sunset at 20:47. And while it is told in the same character-driven, great storytelling style of the original, there is a little more action, murder, and mayhem here. While Sunset was described as a slow, easy voyage on the water with rapids and whirlpools providing excitement, Nobody Drowned is more like a high-speed motorboat racing down the river, being diverted this way and that as new fireballs begin showing themselves in the sky. All of this provides plenty of counterbalance to Mr. Kingsmill's strong suit- which is his ability to write a tense, suspenseful storyline, but still maintain the integrity of his characters' places in it. In other words, while all the shooting, bombing, stealing, killing and attempting to kill are going on, the main drive of this story is the character of the people involved and what they are willing to do to protect their lakefront community, the lake itself, and the surrounding countryside, especially when it comes to Spirit River. Again, these characters are so well portrayed you may feel you have seen them before; actually, you have. The Awan Lake group (Anderson, Arnold and Marion, the Webster sisters, Sam, Sergeant John, and Flo) are back and a couple of people we barely met in Sunset at 20:47, become more of a major player here; like Anita, Crazy Man Willy, and Superintendent Daniels. The ending is fully satisfying in my opinion as it ties up the major threads of Nobody Drowned but left enough open to indicate there will definitely be a book 3. I highly recommend this series and suggest you grab it at the first opportunity.  (USA, Teresa, Bookbub review, 5 stars)

This was my 2nd read in the Frank Anderson series and I loved it. Book 2 picked up where the first ended, the difference being non-stop action from start to finish. A real page turner. Maybe 'nobody drowned' but it seemed there were as many departed souls in and around Awan Lake as in an entire season of Midsomer Murders. (Canada, April, 2019, Amazon customer, 5 stars)

Nobody Drowned (Awan Lake Series Book 2). Superb follow on book better even than book 1.. A well written and crafted story, murder intrigue & corruption. Tense and gripping in places, yet tells of the beauty and serenity of the location. A work of fiction that is probably happening for real! Great entertainment. (USA, April, on Amazon reader, 5 stars)

Profile Photo Peter Kingsmill

About Peter Kingsmill

Peter Kingsmill is the author of the Awan Lake mystery series. Peter is a recipient of the Governor General’s Conservation Award (Canada) and the founder of the Redberry Lake (UNESCO) Biosphere Reserve in Saskatchewan. When he is not writing novels, he serves as publications editor with the Alberta Society of Professional Biologists and works as a consultant on regional development projects. Peter joined Crime Writers of Canada as a Professional Author Member in 2018.

Peter has been a frequent writer and editor since leaving high-school in Montreal and college in Vermont. He recently retired from many years as a riverboat captain and owner of a small-waters marine services business, and has worked at an eclectic mix of tasks which include logger, trucker and cattle farmer. He is passionate about Canada’s rural spaces and has served two terms as Mayor in his home community of Hafford, where he lives with his wife Valerie, an artist and the author/illustrator of the Redberry Tales series of gentle children's books.

All books by Peter Kingsmill

Our Partners